Edvnce blog

Andhra Pradesh Districts List: Updated

Andhra Pradesh, a state rich in diversity, is home to 26 vibrant districts, each contributing to the tapestry of its culture and heritage. These districts are strategically spread across three distinct cultural regions: Uttaraandhra, Kostaandhra, and Rayalaseema. Let us check out the Andhra Pradesh districts list.

Uttaraandhra boasts the enchanting landscapes of Srikakulam, Vizianagaram, Parvathipuram Manyam, Alluri Sitharama Raju, Visakhapatnam, and Anakapalli districts. The Coastal Andhra region, on the other hand, embraces the bustling energy of Kakinada, Dr. B. R. Ambedkar Konaseema, East Godavari, West Godavari, Eluru, Krishna, NTR, Guntur, Palnadu, Bapatla, Prakasam, and Sri Potti Sriramulu Nellore districts. Meanwhile, the timeless heritage of Rayalaseema is embodied in Kurnool, Nandyal, Anantapuramu, Sri Sathya Sai, YSR, Annamayya, Tirupati, and Chittoor districts.

Notably, Visakhapatnam district stands as the jewel in the crown, being the smallest in area, while Prakasam district stretches out as the largest. In terms of population, the bustling hub of Sri Potti Sriramulu Nellore district takes the lead, while the charming Parvathipuram Manyam district claims its place as the least populous. Within these districts, administrative functions are seamlessly carried out through the organization of revenue divisions, which are further subdivided into mandals, ensuring efficient governance throughout the state.

New Districts: Andhra Pradesh

On January 26, 2022, the Government of Andhra Pradesh announced a significant proposal to reconfigure the administrative landscape of the state. This proposal, in accordance with the Andhra Pradesh Districts (Formation) Act of 1974, Section 3(5), aimed to create 13 new districts. Following a comprehensive review process, which included the consideration of objections and suggestions from the public, the government issued the final notification on April 3, 2022. This momentous decision marked the official birth of these newly established districts on April 4, 2022, ushering in a new era of governance and development in Andhra Pradesh.

Andhra Pradesh Districts List

The 13 new districts created are:

  1. Kurnool
  2. Anantapur
  3. Prakasam
  4. Chittoor
  5. Kadapa
  6. Nellore
  7. Guntur
  8. Krishna
  9. West Godavari
  10. East Godavari
  11. Visakhapatnam
  12. Vizianagaram
  13. Srikakulam

This expansion brings the total number of districts in Andhra Pradesh to 26, enhancing the state’s ability to decentralize governance, cater to local needs, and foster regional development. The newly created districts are expected to play a pivotal role in shaping the future of the state across its diverse cultural regions: Uttaraandhra, Kostaandhra, and Rayalaseema.

Complete List of Districts in Andhra Pradesh

S.NoCodeOfficial nameHeadquartersRevenue divisionsMandalsPopulationArea (in sq.km)Density (per sq.km)
2PMParvathipuram ManyamParvathipuram2159,25,3403,659252.89
5ASAlluri Sitharama RajuPaderu2229,53,96012,25177.87
8EGEast GodavariRajamahendravaram21918,32,3322,561715.48
9KNDr. B. R. Ambedkar KonaseemaAmalapuram32217,19,0932,083825.3
11WGWest GodavariBhimavaram21917,79,9352,178817.23
18NESri Potti Sriramulu NelloreNellore43824,69,71210,441236.54
22SSSri Sathya SaiPuttaparthi43218,40,0438,925206.17

Andhra Pradesh’s landscape is a mosaic of 26 diverse districts, each contributing to the state’s cultural richness and growth. These districts are strategically distributed across three distinct cultural regions: Uttaraandhra, Kostaandhra, and Rayalaseema. From the scenic beauty of Visakhapatnam to the bustling energy of Guntur and the historical heritage of Chittoor, each district has its unique character. With its administrative structure designed to cater to the specific needs of its regions, Andhra Pradesh is poised for continued development and prosperity.

Previous Article
Edvnce blog

Capital of Andhra Pradesh: Amaravati

Next Article
Edvnce blog

Beaches in Andhra Pradesh: Sun, Sand, and Serenity

Related Posts