Ministry of Law and Justice (India)

First Woman in India

First Woman in IndiaAs we know that society of India is male dominating but now Indian women are rising and creating an example. Nowadays, Indian women walk shoulders to shoulders with men and achieving in diverse fields like politics, arts, science, law, etc. These women not only generated an impact on India but also are some of the most influential women in history. They inspire us in chasing our dreams that one-day dreams come true. Let’s meet some influential Female Personalities of India who can be termed as role models for every Indian. Which is very useful for the preparation of competitive examinations like UPSC-prelims, SSC, State Services, NDA, CDS, and Railways etc.

  • President of Republic of India—Smt. Pratibha Patil
  • Prime Minister—Indira Gandhi
  • Woman (India and World) who crossed English Channel through Swimming—Arati Shah
  • Governor—Sarojini Naidu (U. P.)
  • I. P. S.—Kiran Bedi
  • President of National Congress—Annee Besant
  • Chairman of the Union Public Service Commission—Rose William Baithu
  • Winner of Nobel Prize—Mother Terresa (for peace)
  • Awardee of Miss World—Rita Faria
  • Awardee of Miss Universe—Sushmita Sen
  • Mayor—Tara Charian [Madras (Now Chennai) 1957]
  • Minister in Central Cabinet—Rajkumari Amrit Kaur
  • Chief Minister—Sucheta Kriplani
  • Parliamentarian—Radhabai Subbarayan (1938)
  • Judge of Supreme Court—Justice Meera Sahib Fatima Bibi
  • Chief Justice of High Court—Justice Leela Seth (Himachal Pradesh)
  • Session Judge of the Country—Anna Chandi (Kerala)
  • Mountaineer who climbed (Conquered) the Mt. Everest—Bacchendri Pal
  • Awardee of Norman Borlaug Prize—Dr. Amrita Patil
  • Literature who was awarded the Sahitya Akademi award—Amrita Pritam (1956)
  • Honoured with ‘Bharat Ratna’—Indira Gandhi
  • Awardee of Lenin peace award—Aruna Asaf Ali
  • Awardee of Gayanpeeth Puraskar—Asha Purna Devi (1976)
  • Woman who reached ‘Antarctica’—Mahel Musa (1977)
  • Woman who reached to North Pole—Pritisu Gupta (1993)
  • Woman who travelled Allround the world—Ujjawala Patil (1988) by Boat
  • Chief Engineer—P. K. Tresia Naguli
  • Pilot—Flying Officer Sushma Mukhopaddhyaya
  • Air Lines Pilot—Capt. Durga Banerjee
  • Commander of Boeing 737 Plane—Capt. Saudamini Deshmukh
  • Paratrooper of Indian Air Force—Geeta Ghosh
  • I. A. S.—Auna George Malhotra
  • First television news broadcaster—Pratima Puri
  • Participated in mustic programme of U.N.O.—M. S. Subbuluxmi (1966)
  • Woman participated in Olympic games—Meri Lila Row (1952)
  • Woman who   won   the   medal   in   Olympic   games—Malleshwari (weightlifting—Sydney)
  • Woman who won the Gold Medal in Asian games—Kamaljeet Sidhu (1970, 400 metre)
  • Woman who won the medal in Commonwealth games— Anil Ghiya and Kawal Thakur Singh (woman Doubles Badminton, 1978)
  • Medal winner in International Athletic Championship—Anju B. George (2003 Paris)
  • Grandmaster winner in Chess—Bhagiya Sri Thipsey (1988)
  • One hundred wicket taker in International Women Cricket—Indulgi (1986)
  • Awardee of Arjun Puraskar—N. Lamsden (Hockey, 1961)
  • Woman who made hat-trick in football—Youlanda- de- Suza (1978)
  • Awardee of Ashok Chakra—Neerja Bhanot (Posthumously)
  • Awardee of Sena Medal—Vimla Devi (1988)
  • Degree of graduation—Kadambni Ganguly (Bose) and Chandramukhi Bose (Kolkata University, 1883)
  • Awardee of B.E. degree —Ella-Majumdar (1951)
  • M.B.B.S. Degree awardee—Vidhumuti Bose and Virginia Mitter (Kolkata Medical College)
  • First Surgeon—Dr. Prema Mukherjee
  • Deputy Governor of Reserve Bank—K. J. Udesi (2003)
  • Chairman of NABARD—Ranjana Kumar
  • D.I.G. (Police)—Kanchan Chaudhary Bhattacharya
  • Lieutenant General—Punita Arora
  • Chairman of Indian Air lines—Shushma Chawla
  • Barrister—Cornonia Sorabji (Allahabad High Court – 1923)
  • Advocate—Regina Guha
  • Ambassador—Vijayalaxmi Pandit (U.S.S.R.-1947)
  • Woman who crossed over Gibralter Strait by Swimming—Arati Pradhan
  • World Record in Powerlifting—Sumita Laha (1989)
  • Represented the nation in all three games (Cricket, Hockey and Basketball)—Shrin Khushro Kiyasa
  • First Commercial test Pilot of the world—Capt. Surun Darsi and Capt. Rose Lopar
  • Pilot of Indian Air Force—Harita Daoel
  • Twice scaled the Mt. Everest—Santosh Yadav
  • Ramon Magsaysay Prize awardee—Kiran Bedi
  • Heroin awarded Dada Sahaib Phalke Prize—Devika Rani Rorik
  • Youngest woman who scaled the Mt. Everest twice—Decky Dolma
  • Scientist who was awarded Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar award—Ashima Chatterjee
  • Foreign Secretary—Chokila Ayyar
  • First Chief Secretary of the Country—Nirmla Buch First Space traveller—Kalpana Chawla
  • Joint Director of C.B.I.— Archana Sunder Lingam
  • Winner of Murti Devi Prize—Pratibha Rai
  • Woman contested the Presidential election—Capt. Laxmi Sahgal
  • Air Vice-Marshal and Air-Marshal in Indian Air Force—P. Bandyopadhyay
  • Non-military Police Advisor in U.N.O.—Kiran Bedi
  • Revenue Secretary—Vinita Rai
  • Referee in Boxing—Rajia Sabnam
  • First woman of Indian origin who stayed for the longest time in space—Sunita William
Previous Article
Ministry of Law and Justice (India)

First Person in India

Next Article
Ministry of Law and Justice (India)

Tourist Places of States

Related Posts